Dreaming Leaves Trail Of Color

I like the night

Why not?

Red wine through water

Altering the color of my mind

 

Irrational fancy

Of future existence

Leaps of imagination

In the dusty recesses of my vanity

 

I am a dreamer

Finding my way by moonlight

I’m dreaming the hardest

That’s when I always think of you

 

If I ask you now, would you remember what you dreamed last night? Were you able to follow the plot, or did it have one? Was it in color or in black and white? Did it concentrate to just one theme or fragments of very short previews? Questions, I often ask myself each day when I have the time to think about what I dreamed while sleeping.

There is actually two kinds of dreams: One that happened when we sleep, and the other, the one which is more under our control, our aspirations, and goals in life. In its perfect sense, if it has some.

Sleep. Dreams are successions of images, ideas, emotions, and sensations that occur involuntarily in the mind during certain stages of sleep. They mainly occur in the rapid-eye movement (REM) stage of sleep—when brain activity is high and resembles that of being awake. Oh crap! I’m not an expert on this. I’m often suffering from insomnia, so a straight 3-5 hours of sleep is great enough for me. Lately, with the help of sleeping aides like meds, warm milk w/honey, chamomile tea and lavender-scented candles, my relationship with sleep had improved a lot.

Dr. Seuss said, “You know you’re in love when you can’t fall asleep because reality is finally better than your dreams.” I find this a little complicated. I’m sorry, Dr. Seuss. It might be just me, but I find it hard to sleep, not because finally reality is better than sleeping, but because I have a mind clogged with dreams. It’s filled with scenarios I truly wanted to happen. My dreams are so real to me. They are different viewpoints, recurring images, happy memories and some forgettable too, puns and lost hopes… I can’t say I’m not in love. In this case, I agree with Dr. Seuss. It’s not easy to sleep when you’re so in love, and the object of the super strong emotion is not yet with you. I wish sleep will be my best friend as soon as my reality is better than my dreams. Again, sorry Dr. Seuss, yes I’m admitting, I’m a girl of contradictions.

I agree more with Edgar Allan Poe when he said, “Those who dream by day are cognizant of many things which escape those who dream only by night.” It’s been almost a year now that I’m using dreams for survival. Haha, don’t take that so seriously, or this post for that matter. My dreams are energizing me, they are keeping me alive, making me smile, and keeping me in love.

You may call me an escapist. But, am I the only one? Who’s not tired of the reality crap? The subdued, slow, stable everyday routines? You’re admirable if you were not. I am. But I’m surviving, because I keep on dreaming, and believing.

I can have it all. Just not all at once. I know this by heart. While waiting for my “someday,” I’ll be dreaming. It’s a great tool to use, when I’m tired of being me.

Yes, I believe you, Sir Aristotle, “Hope is a waking dream.”

 

Leave a Reply

