I’ve Found My First Gray Hairs!

I complain that time flies so fast sometimes. I always say age is just a number, and mine is unlisted. Age is a topic every woman avoids. It’s even considered a taboo, to ask in any conversation. But who really gives a crap? We celebrate our birthdays each year, surely we gain another year and gets older. It’s called existence, humanity.

Last Saturday morning, while making different cutie-shocked-excited-funny faces in front of the mirror, as I always do, to make myself laugh, I saw something which I thought isn’t normal in my ‘crown of glory.’ Another crap cliché. I believe more than the hair, a person’s heart is his real crown of glory. Aight, we’ll just stick to what it’s really called, hair. I found some white strands on top of my hair. Let’s just say, a few. They’re not actually called white hairs, but gray hairs. Weird, right?

Having straight jet black hair for very long time, then seeing some gray strands is fascinating. Combed my hair several times as if, if I do I can forever hide the ‘intruders’ and forever rid of them. They were so silvery shining and really sparkled. I decided to do something and save my life! Overreacting yes, but I felt like it’s an emergency! Thinking of it now, makes me cringe. Not because of the gray hair, but because I’m painfully laughing at myself.

I took the forceps, they’re use to pull tiny-bitsy whatever, like eyebrows, stingers, etc. Pulled every gray strand I can find, at least got six gray hair strands: four very long ones, two tiny-shorties. The tiny ones really gave me a hard time though. I felt pain in my fingers while using the forceps. They love hiding! I felt well after, as if I eradicated pests in my garden of flowers. I felt relieved. I saved my life. I’m a hero in the making.

This morning, same routine, making different cutie-shocked-excited-funny faces in the mirror, I saw a couple of very long gray hairs, on the left side of my hair. Guess, the gray hair intrusion is not yet over, or in reality, it’ll never be over. It’s something inevitable. Getting, gray, silver, or white hair is a natural way of getting older.

People can get gray hair at any age. Some people go gray at a young age — as early as when they are in high school or college — whereas others may be in their 30s or 40s before they see that first gray hair. How early we get gray hair is determined by our genes. This means that most of us will start having gray hairs around the same age that our parents or grandparents first did.

Gray hair is more noticeable in people with darker hair like mine, because it stands out, but people with naturally lighter hair are just as likely to go gray. From the time a person notices a few gray hairs, it may take more than 10 years for that person’s hair to turn gray. That is a great consolation from all these. Now I’m smiling! At least, I may still have 10 years to have fun.

Maybe you’re thinking what’s the crap? Huge market of hair dyes are all over the counter, anywhere. Well, not for me. I promised myself that when I feel like my hair is really turning white, I’ll have it short and simply white. I love Sinéad O’Connor’s short hair and how Jamie Lee Curtis is embracing her age. Honestly, I’m not scared to do the same in the future.

It’s important to have a twinkle in our wrinkles and gray hair. I’ll always remember this. For now, I’ll just enjoy each day that’ll come. And by the way, I didn’t pull the last two gray strands that I’ve found. I decided to keep them. Each time I’ll see them, I’ll smile. They’ll be a reminder that I’m learning something new every day.

When it comes to staying young, a mind-lift beats a face-lift any day.

Leave a comment